Application deadline: Feb. 1

# Elizabeth B. Dickey Distinguished Service Award

## Who can be nominated:

### Advisers who have

- at least seven years of advising a school publication
- contributed beyond the walls of the school through their work with state, regional & national scholastic press associations
- significant service to and support of SIPA by judging and speaking
- noteworthy attainment by the school publication: All-Southern, All-American, Medalist, and state awards
- attendance at a SIPA convention and participation as a program leader or speaker

# Other people who have

- retired as SIPA member advisers who have met the requirements above but may have been overlooked by previous selection committees
- supported SIPA and scholastic journalism with sustained leadership, support, endorsement, and public recognition of scholastic journalism consistent with the goals and philosophy of SIPA.

### Who can nominate:

Advisers, students or principals from member publications, SIPA's executive board members, and former DSA winners.

### How to nominate:

- In a nomination letter, explain your reasons for nominating the person for the Elizabeth B. Dickey Distinguished Service Award.
- Letters supporting the nomination are welcome but not required.
- Submit the letter with the nominee's resume to dennislc@email.sc.edu.

# **Past DSA Recipients**

- Alice James, '79
- J. Grady Locklear, '79
- Col. C.E. "Chuck" Savedge, '79
- Dr. Albert T. Scroggins, '79
- Clark Chism, '80
- Fanny King, '80
- Marianne King, '80
- Dr. Regis Boyle, '81
- Hope Carroll, '81
- Ann Herlong, '81
- Eloise Howard, '81
- Dr. Dennis Jones, '81
- Charles O'Malley, '81
- Florence Hancock, '82
- Nancy Green, '83
- Betty Morton, '83
- Beth Dickey, '84
- Bruce E. Konkle, '84
- Patricia Hedden Wicker, '84
- Thomas Engleman, '85
- Carole Ford, '85
- Dr. Ruby Herlong, '85
- Dr. Reid Montgomery, '85
- Col. Joseph M. Murphy, '85
- Kay Phillips, '85
- Oscar Wetherhold "Tom" Reigel, '85
- Lilla Scroggins, '85
- Herb Sirota, '85
- Sam Garner, '86
- Dr. Jack Hillwig, '86
- Bruce Watterson, '86
- Ann Bartholomew, '87
- Hud Clark, '87
- Dorothy McPhillips, '87
- Shirley Moravec, '87
- Dr. John Butler, '88
- Mark Goodman, '88
- Ken Henderson, '88
- Alma Blythe, '88
- Earl Straight, '88
- Mary Ann Blaskowitz, '89
- John Cutsinger, '89
- Betsy Owen, '89
- Richard J. Fitz, '90
- David Knight, '90
- Richard L. "Rik" McNeill, '90

- Karen Flowers, '91
- James F. Paschal, '91
- Carol Lange, '92
- Nancy Ruth Patterson, '92
- Susan Earley, '93
- Richard Johns, '93
- Margaret Johnston, '93
- Sylvia Daughtry, '94
- Brenda Gorsuch, '94
- Judy Hines, '94
- Dr. John Lopiccolo, '94
- Margaret Shearouse, '94
- Dr. Jack Dvorak, '95
- Linda Leatherman, '95
- Chuck Stone, '95
- Beth Hammond, '96
- Judith Price, '96
- Dr. Richard Uray, '96
- Robert Atwood, '97
- Mary Inglis, '97
- Nora Moulton, '97
- Lori Oglesbee, '98
- Martha Akers, '98
- Tom French, '99
- Judy Mulkey, '99
- Bobby Hawthorne, '99
- John Grisham, '99
- Tim Harrower, '00
- Carolyn Haldeman, '00
- John Hudnall, '00
- Patsy Towery, '00
- H. L. Hall, '01
- Martha Rothwell, '01
- Dr. Ronald Farrar, '01
- Will Felts, '02
- Margaret Sorrows, '02
- Sharon Deibel, '03
- Christie Gold, '03
- Pat Jackson, '03
- Kim Stokes, '03
- Carl Zimmermann, '03
- Julie Dodd, '04
- Mark Murray, '04
- Steve Row, '04
- Tamela K. Watkins, '04
- Beth Fitts, '05

- Rhonda Moore, '05
- Flip Schulke, '05
- Jane Speidel. '05
- Carolyn Terry, '05
- Gary C. Dickey, '06
- Martha Herring, '06
- Amy Medlock-Greene, '06
- Ken Thornberry, '06
- Dean Charles Bierbauer, '07
- Marilyn Chapman, '07
- Sandy Woodcock, '07
- Alison Shuman, '07
- Linda Puntney, '08
- Alan Weintraut, '08
- Bradley Wilson, '08
- Monica Hill, '09
- Stella McCombs, '09
- Jake Palenske, '09
- Joe Dennis, '10
- Valerie Kibler, '10
- Susan Newell, '10
- Kristi Gibbins, '11
- Jenny Proctor, '11
- Leslie Dennis, '12Chris Floore, '12
- Frank LoMonte, '12
- Mary Kay Downes, '13
- Deborah Gascon, '13
- Buck Ryan, '13
- Dr. Carol Pardun, '14
- David Ragsdale, '15
- Chuck Walker, '15
- Chris Waugaman, '15
- Coni Grebel, '16
- Adrienne Hollifield, '16
- Rebecca Piner, '17
- Collyn Taylor, '17
- Rich Whalen, '17Phillip Caston, '18
- RJ Morgan, '18
- Erin Coggins, '19
- Justin Fabiano, '19
- Steve Hanf, '20
- Melanie Huynh-Duc, '20
- Sue Gill, '20
- Michaela Taylor, '22